Home Others A brief history about The University of Benin

A brief history about The University of Benin

8 min read

Motto:                                        Knowledge for Service
Type:                                           Public
Established:                           1970
Chancellor:                              Sanusi Lamido Sanusi
Vice-Chancellor:                  Prof Faraday Orumwense
Students:                                 50,000
Location:                                   Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria
Campus:                                    Ugbowo Campus and Ekenwan Campus
Colours:                                      Purple
Website:                                    www.uniben.edu

The University of Benin was founded in 1970. It started as an Institute of Technology and was accorded the status of a full-fledged University by NationalUniversities Commission (NUC) on 1 July 1971. In his Budget Speech in April 1972, the then Military Governor of Mid-Western State,Col. S. O. Ogbemudia(then also Visitor to the University) formally announced the change of the name of the Institute of Technology to the University of Benin. Optometry program was also founded (established) within the Faculty of Science in 1972 under the headship of Dr.Paul Ogbuehi (debpartment of Physics). By 1976, Optometry program in UNIBEN had on its faculty qualified professional with practice licences from Canada, England, and United States of America. The program had a faculty-student ratio of 2:1, many from College of Medicine and Medical Sciences earned its accredited On 1 April 1975 the University at the request of the State Government, was takenover by the Federal Government and became a Federal University.

Today, the University has continued to grow from strength to strength with a number of Faculties, Departments, Institutes and Units. Following NUC’s directives, the University experimented with the Collegiate System in 1991/92 and 1992/93.

However, in the light of new developments, the University reverted to the Faculty System except for the Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Basic Medical Sciences, and Institute of Child Health which reverted to the Collegiate System in August, 1999, with a Provost as its administrative head. The Faculties as presently constituted are those of Agriculture, Arts, Education, Engineering, Law, Life Science, Pharmacy, Physical Science, Social Science, and the College of Medical Sciences (which has three Schools: Basic Medical Sciences; Dentistry and Medicine; and the Institute of Child Health).

In January 2006, the Federal Government approved the take off of the College of Petroleum and Gas Engineering of the University of Benin atEffurun, nearWarri, in Delta State, with the initial population of 100 students in two departments; Petroleum Engineering and Gas Engineering.

The University offers courses at various levels: Postgraduate, Undergraduate, Diploma and Certificate. Presently, the total student enrolment stands at over 40,000 made up of both full-time and part-time students shared among the various Faculties.

In 1985,Grace Alele-Williams became Nigeria’s first female Vice-Chancellor when she was appointed to head the University of Benin. She served as its Vice-Chancellor until 1991.

The University is also famous for ground breaking research work with otheruniversities around the world and with both local and international bodies such as USAID, Ford Foundation, UNCF (United Negro College Fund), RMRDC (Raw Materials Research & Development Council of Nigeria) amongst others in the areas of Agriculture, Public Health and Engineering to name a few.

Notable alumni

*.Oladipo Agboluaje actor

*.Emmanuel Agwoje, banker

*.Josephine Anenihlawyer and former minister

*.Richard Mofe Damijo, actor

*.George Edozie, artist

*.Babatunde Raji Fashola, formerLagos Stategovernor

*.James Ibori, formerDelta Stategovernor

 *.Okpobrisi Anthony Vote, Doctor and retired General

*.Bright Okpocha, comedian

*.Osonye Tess Onwueme, writer and professor

*.Emmanuel Uduaghan, former governor, Delta State

*.Mbachan Collins OkwenEducator, University of Texas

*.Felix E. Okiemen, professors

*.Sabina Umeh, singer

*.Gabriel Iduseri, Engineer & Businessman

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Unibenolodo
Load More In Others

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Usain Bolt Limps Into Retirement As He Pulls Arm string In His Final 4x100M Relay Race

Athletics legend, Usain Bolt‘s glittering career ended in a limp after he pulled up injure…